SADC Member Countries’ Contributions Below Expectations

Southern Africa Development Community

The Southern Africa Development Community (SADC)?s national secretary, Beatriz Morais, Tuesday in Gaborone (Botswana) expressed concern at the scarcity of the member states contributions to the budget of the organisation.

Speaking on the fringes of the SADC Permanent Committee, Beatriz Morais said that of the Usd 37 million of the budget approved at a Council Minister’s session, the SADC secretary acknowledged the receipt of Usd 13 million, which is a 37 percent deficit.

She said the shortage of funds might affect the functioning of the SADC Secretariat that relies on member countries’ contributions.

SADC groups 15 member countries, namely Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Please follow and like us:
Source: Angola Press Agency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone